A New York City girl now?

Hello everybody,

So last week I arrived at the campus. I had a good flight I just didn’t get any sleep. The campus is really beautiful and I have nice room mates. One from Russia, one from Mexico and one from French.
At the campus we have a great view over the Hudson River.

The Hudson River from the Campus
The Hudson River from the Campus
My room
My room
My room
My room

IMG_2144[1]
My room
I have been to NYC twice now. And it was AMAZING. It is so beautiful and everything is so big. It  is a very busy city but the people are so nice. We went to the Top of the Rock, and the view was so pretty. And of course we went to Times Square. We sat there for a while just gasping around. All the lights it really strucked me.

Top of the Rock
Top of the Rock
Top of the Rock
Top of the Rock
Top of the Rock
Top of the Rock
Top of the Rock
Top of the Rock
IMG_2055
Times Square
Times Square
Times Square

The second time was on 9/11, so we went to Ground Zero to see the 9/11 Memorial, it was so impressive. The names of all the people who didn’t survived 9/11, where on a huge fountain.
It is really strange to be actually here, in The Big Apple, but it is so amazing.

9/11 memorial
9/11 memorial
9/11 memorial
9/11 memorial
9/11 memorial
9/11 memorial

Today we went shopping, in like a really big mall. I was there with a group of Dutch girls (I know that’s bad, but they are just really nice) but also one from Denmark and one from Spain. We were all really happy with what we had bought.
And we went to the CHEESE CAKE FACTORY. I had a Oreo cheese cake and it was just so delicious.

Oreo cheese cake
Oreo cheese cake
At the Cheese cake factory.
At the Cheese cake factory.

The classes here are not that bad. We have iLab, which is on the computer and that is going okay. We have another class where we do all the rest: grammar, writing, speaking etc. Our teacher is really funny so that makes the long classes a lot easier.
I also met my mentor, he is a little bit weird but that is kinda funny. Even though he called me “Blondie”. We needed to go to the lake in groups to make pictures and just to get to know each other.

I LOVE NY
I LOVE NY
Mentor group
Mentor group
Little island in the lake
Little island in the lake

So I’m having a great time here and I really enjoy it. Everyone is so nice and everything is so pretty, Tarrytown and NYC are just amazing. I just love the fact that Tarrytown is such a cute American town. I think it is really funny that the woman at the pharmacy shop in Tarrytown said: “we don’t have that much honey, we are just a little town”. But they had like a lot in the shop, and Tarrytown would in the Netherlands definitly be a city. A lot of restaurants (a McDonalds!!), shops and also just a lot of people.

It’s just a week that I am here, but it already feels like a longer time. Even though I am enjoying it a lot here, I am still missing home a little. Tomorrow starts the real first school week, and I am very excited. There are so many great adventures that are coming and I just can’t wait.
And because I am also learning something it really feels good to be here.
I hope you all are also having a great time, and you enjoyed reading my story of my first week.

xoxo,

6 thoughts on “A New York City girl now?

  1. Bente Sneekes

    I like your story . I miss you already and soon we go skyping. I think your english is better haha. Im jealous when i read en see the pictures . Its amazing! Luckily you learnt nice people over there. Have fun and miss me 🙂 than i wi do the same 🙂 byeeeexxxx

Leave a Reply

