Never Have I Ever… Lived the American Dream

In my last post I wrote, that I had the progress test that day. On Friday, two weeks ago, I got the result. I am now in a higher level! I got a 9 on my writing, 80% on my grammar and 50% on my listening and reading. That day we also had a little ‘party’ in the class. To celebrate the end of the level we were in. We ate some popcorn and some hotdogs. We also had a cream soda float. Ice cream with soda. It tasted kind a good.
IMG_3707 IMG_3708 IMG_3709

That evening we went to Tarrytown, because there was the 3rd Friday market, and on Saturday we did some shopping in Manhattan. Now I finally have my Halloween outfit!

IMG_3790IMG_3795IMG_3799IMG_3803IMG_3855
IMG_3835

In the evening we went to club Haus, it was a little bit too crowded but we had fun.
IMG_3845 IMG_3846 IMG_3847

On Sunday we did nothing much, and on Monday we had class. One of my spin classes has changed, I now have academic and professional writing instead of American slang. I like it more than American slang, but I don’t know if I am going to keep this spin class. I think that I am also going to change the spin class: test taking. I want a spin class, where I can get more out of it.
On Tuesday I FaceTimed with my family at home, now that they have an Apple T.V. they were able to see me on the television.
IMG_3891

On Wednesday, we just had class of course, and in the evening we went to the cinema. We were lucky that some other people from school were also going to the mall (the cinema was in the mall) so we could get in a taxi with them. We went to the movie: The Best of Me, from Nicholas Sparks. I absolutely loved the movie, and I recommend this movie to everybody. It is a romance story but there is also some violence in it.

IMG_3896 IMG_3897

On Thursday we danced in the class with our teacher, it was a lot of fun. Only now we need to learn the class a typical Dutch dance, so tomorrow Malou and I are going to learn the class: hakken. Even though we don’t even know how to do it. In the evening we danced again, Quinty tried to learn us to dance but I think we completly failed, but it was fun.
On Friday we did a drinking game in class, not with real alcohol of course, but with root beer. We played the came Never Have I Ever. We did it with some questions in the book, but we all also asked some questions. When you have done the thing, you needed to slam a shot of root beer. It was a good way to get to know each other better. That’s why the titel of this post is called like this, I am definitly living the American Dream right now. So I think it is time for a shot for me? In the evening I went to a rooftop party at the Empire Hotel. The Empire Hotel is very famous because of the serie Gossip Girl. In the serie it is Chuck Bass his hotel. And I think all girls know, who Chuck Bass is.
IMG_3929 IMG_3930
IMG_3932

After the party there was a drunk girl on the campus, she doesn’t go to this school so we tried to help her why she was here, and how she was going to get home. But she was so drunk she prefered to go sleeping in the lounge in the basement. She didn’t remember anything, not even her name. So police and ambulance picked her up..
And here is the beautiful view by night, from my room.
IMG_3945

On Sunday we went to Soho and Little Italy, we had a good and relaxing day, and I really enjoyed it. The city is just so amazing and so pretty.
IMG_3965IMG_3967IMG_3968 IMG_3969IMG_3970IMG_3979IMG_3996IMG_4009IMG_3997IMG_4005IMG_4003IMG_4007 IMG_4008IMG_4011IMG_4015IMG_4016 IMG_4017 IMG_4018IMG_4022IMG_4024

Credits to Robin, for taking all the pictures yesterday, and for the good time yesterday.
My sister decided to come visit my the week before Christmas, and I am really looking forward to it, we just need to find a good hotel.
In the Netherlands the clock has changed, so this week there is just a 5 hours difference, in America it changes on 2 November.
This week Halloween is coming and I am really excited. We are probably going to Sleepy Hollow this week and of course the Halloween parade. I will let you know how Halloween was in my next post.

Leave a Reply

